fall comes to new york city

IMG_7011Last night I left work at 7. It was already dark. The bike rack outside my office was nearly empty, and the streets were, too. (Well, not of cars…) I wore a light jacket over my sweater–such a real fall day. It felt so good to glide down 9th Ave. The hot stink of summer–garbage and urine–replaced by something almost like the country: the smell of cold air and a fire burning somewhere.

That smell brings me back to college and the long rides I’d take alone. Once I ended up in a subdivision, circling a man-made pond. Once I rode over some railroad tracks where I didn’t know any train lines existed. I often went past a small lake beach, past a state park entrance, past a house where a junk artist lived (and worked), to the foot of the apple orchards. The way back would sometimes take me past the farm, or the cemetery, or small semi-suburban homes. My favorite stretch of road took me suddenly through the woods and down a hard-packed dirt road. Once at dusk I passed a horse there. I never brought a map–or even looked at one afterwards–and was often lost for much of the ride, always knowing that even if I didn’t know where I was I could retrace my path and get back again.

Anyway, that’s what it smelled like, almost, in this city–leaves in piles and empty roads and cold hands and ears and nose.

Leave a comment

Filed under bikes

Leave a Reply

