whatcha reading?

The City Room‘s doing a poll to see what people are reading on the subway. You can tell them your main subway line and what you’ve recently read here.

My answers? F train/ Forever War/ New Yorker/ I can’t read newspapers on the subway because I never mastered the art of the graceful fold.

I love sneaking looks at the covers of books people are reading–and also making snap judgements about them based on the book.

There was that period where every person on the subway was holding a copy of Harry Potter, and there are still a lot of copies of Twilight out there.

For a while I really wanted to read The Selected Works of T. S. Spivet after I saw someone reading it on the subway. I hadn’t heard of it, but I was instantly intrigued. It has a huge trim size and diagrams drawn in the margins. I spent the whole ride trying to peer over the poor guy’s shoulder.

(Then I read some reviews and it didn’t sound as good as it looked.)

I was recently reading The Penderwicks (for ages 9-12) on my way home one night, when a lady turned to me and said, “Summer reading?”
Yeah, lady, I’m 24 and I attend second grade.
But anyway, we struck up a conversation, and she busily name-dropped her Friend Who Won a Newbery Award while I tried to explain that although I work in children’s books I don’t know That Novel She’s Mentioning That Her Son Really Likes Right Now.

And this is why kindles will end the world as subway riders know it.

2 Comments

Filed under books

2 responses to “whatcha reading?

  1. bookinglass

    this is fascinating and oh so true! I am always looking what other people are reading on the tube, and i am guilty of reading their pages if i have forgotten to bring a book of my own. hehehe. i have to apologise about this font also, it is a messed up keyboard i am writing on.

  2. bikeworm

    I’m reposting bookinglass’s comment, since it’s not showing up. She writes:

    This is fascinating and oh so true! I am always looking what other people are reading on the tube and I am guilty of reading their pages if I have forgotten to bring a book of my own. Hehehe. I have to apologise about this font also. It is a messed up keyboard I am writing on.

Leave a Reply

