new city bike lanes

This post is long overdue– Last week I was entering my midtown office when I noticed some construction out of the corner of my eye. It looked like they were tearing up the road, and I didn’t give it much thought. Then the next day I look over and voila! there’s a new Broadway bike lane.

looking south

looking south

I knew about the closing of Broadway to cars in the 30s and 40s, but I didn’t know they were extending bike lanes all the way up to Columbus Circle.

bikelane3

looking north

Good work, Bloomberg. But please, please, please–can you do something about the road outside the port authority bus terminal? The bike lane that stretches from all the way downtown suddenly turns into a taxi-only car lane. If we want average people to feel comfortable biking through midtown, something should be done about that block.

Leave a comment

Filed under commuting

Leave a Reply

